Search Results

Dewatering Deep Excavation

1.0 Introduction

This tutorial introduces how to add dewatering to the deep excavation model in RS3. 

All tutorial files installed with RS3 can be accessed by selecting File > Recent > Tutorials folder from the RS3 main menu. The initial file of the tutorial can be found in Dewatering Deep Excavation – starting file.rs3v3 and the finished tutorial can be found in the Dewatering Deep Excavation.rs3v3 file.

2.0 Starting the Model 

  1. Select: File > Recent > Tutorials Folder
  2. Open Dewatering Deep Excavation – starting file.rs3v3

The starting file for this model is the final product of Deep Excavation Tutorial.

  1. Select: Analysis > Project Settings 
  2. In the Groundwater tab, 

    Change the following parameters:

    • Method: Steady State
    • Check Negative Pore Pressure Cutoff
    • Maximum negative PWP (kPa): 0

      This option won’t cap the magnitude of the pore pressure by itself, however, for the calculation of effective stress (for uncoupled analysis), if the pore pressure is less than the input value, we assume the input value as a pore pressure. So, it can give us more conservative results.
      If you are accounting for unsaturated soil behavior, selecting this option is not recommended.

      Project settings dialog
  3. Leave the default settings for the rest of the parameters and click OK

3.0 Defining the Materials 

Ensure the current workflow tab is set to Geology  Geology workflow tab icon

  1. Select: Groundwater > Define Hydraulic Properties

    For the hydraulic models, there are pre-defined models available in RS3 for describing the permeability in the unsaturated zone as a function of matric suction. For example, for the Van Genuchten, the permeability above the phreatic surface is automatically determined by RS3 based on matric suction. You can click the Plot Function button to view the plot of permeability versus matric suction. Click the link for a detailed description of each hydraulic model parameter. For this tutorial, we will define a model for each of the materials with constant permeability to reduce the non-linearity of the model and get the results quicker. 
  2. Select User-defined Models next to Hydraulic Model dropdown 
  3. Input the following parameters:

    • Name: Loose Sand
    • WC Input Type: By Degree of Saturation 
    • Input the values shown in the table for Permeability:

    Matric Suction (kPa)

    Permeability (meters/second)

    0

    0.0001

    1

    0.0001

    To add a row, click on the Insert row into grid above currently selected row button

    Define function dialog - permeability
    • Switch to the Degree of saturation tab
    • Input the Values shown in the table for Degree Of Saturation:

    Matric Suction (kPa)

    Degree Of Saturation

    0

    1

    100

    0.2

    Define function dialog - degree of saturation
  4. Click the Add new model button
    Input the following parameters:

    • Name: Clay
    • WC Input Type: By Degree of Saturation 
    • Input the values shown in the table for Permeability:

    Matric Suction (kPa)

    Permeability (meters/second)

    0

    1E-07

    1

    1E-07

    • Input the Values shown in the table for Degree Of Saturation:

    Matric Suction (kPa)

    Degree Of Saturation

    0

    1

    100

    0.2

  5. Add a new model and input the following parameters:

    • Name: Dense Sand
    • WC Input Type: By Water Content 
    • Input the values shown in the table for Permeability:

    Matric Suction (kPa)

    Permeability (meters/second)

    0

    1E-06

    1

    1E-06

    • Input the Values shown in the table for Water Content:

    Matric Suction (kPa)

    Water Content (m3/m3)

    0

    0.3

    100

    0.2

     

  6. Click OK to save and close the Define Function dialog
  7. Select Loose Sand, change the Hydraulic Model to Loose Sand

    Material properties dialog - hydraulics
  8. Select Stiff Clay, change the Hydraulic Model from Simple to Clay
  9. Select Dense Sand, change the Hydraulic Model from Simple to Dense Sand
  10. Click OK to save and close the Material Properties dialog
  11. Select: Materials > Joints > Define Joint Properties
  12. Uncheck Permeable under Hydraulic Properties

    This makes the walls surrounding the excavation impermeable, preventing water from flowing through the walls.

    Joint properties dialog
  13. Click OK

4.0 Applying Groundwater Boundary Conditions

Set the current workflow tab to Groundwater

  1. Select: Groundwater > Define Groundwater Boundary Conditions
    Input the following parameters:
    • Name: TH=-1.5
    • Type: Total Head (H)
    • Total Head Value(m): -1.5

      Define groundwater boundary conditions dialog - total head
  2. Click the Add new property button
    Input the following parameters:
    • Name: DeWatering
    • Type: Unknown (P=0 or Q=0)

      Define groundwater boundary conditions - DeWatering
  3. Click OK
  4. Select Initial stage 
  5. Select Faces Selection
  6. Select all the side faces of the intermediate entities:

    face selection 1
  7. Select Groundwater > Add Groundwater Boundary Conditions
    Input the following parameters:
    • Groundwater Boundary Condition: TH=-1.5
    • Install at stage: Initial 
    • Remove at stage: Never

      Add groundwater BC dialog - total head
  8. Click OK

    Model after first BC
  9. Select Excavation 1 stage
  10. Hide the top layer box entities
  11. Select the faces at the bottom of the first excavation 

    face selection 2
  12. Select Groundwater > Add Groundwater Boundary Conditions
    Input the following parameters:
    • Groundwater Boundary Condition: DeWatering
    • Install at stage: Excavation 1 
    • Remove at stage: Excavation 2

      Add groundwater BC dialog - dewatering
  13. Click OK

    model after second BC
  14. Select Excavation 2 stage
  15. Hide the second layer from the top box entity
  16. Select the face at the bottom of the second excavation 

    Face selection 3
  17. Select Groundwater > Add Groundwater Boundary Conditions

    Input the following parameters:

    • Groundwater Boundary Condition: DeWatering
    • Install at stage: Excavation 2
    • Remove at stage: Excavation 3

  18. Click OK

    Model after third BC
  19. Select Excavation 3 stage
  20. Hide the third layer from the top box entity 
  21. Select the bottom face of the third excavation 

    Face selection 4
  22. Select: Groundwater > Add Groundwater Boundary Conditions
    Input the following parameters:
    • Groundwater Boundary Condition: DeWatering
    • Install at stage: Excavation 3
    • Remove at stage: Never

      Add groundwater BC dialog - dewatering
  23. Click OK

5.0 Restraints

Set the current workflow tab to Restraints

  1. Select: Restraints > Reset All Displacements 
  2. Make sure Reset Displacements after stages:  is selected
  3. Leave the stage as Initial 

    Reset all displacements dialog
  4. Select OK
  5. Select: Restraints > Auto Rotation Restrain (Surface)

    Model with restraints

6.0 Mesh

Set the current workflow tab to Mesh

  1. Select Mesh > Mesh Settings

    Mesh settings dialog
  2. Keep the default settings and select Mesh
  3. Click OK

    Model after mesh

7.0 Compute

Set the current workflow tab to Compute

  1. It is recommended to save the final model as a separate file so that you can access the original file anytime: File > Save As
  2. Select Compute > Compute
You can compute only groundwater by selecting Compute > Compute (Groundwater Only)

8.0 Results 

Set the current workflow tab to Results

8.1 GROUNDWATER RESULTS

8.1.1 Pressure Head

  1. Select Excavation 3 stage
  2. On the top right corner, set the Legend to Solids and Pressure Head
  3. Select Interpret > Show Data on Plane > XZ
    Leave default parameters

    Contour plane dialog - XZ
    Model with XZ plane preview
  4. Click Add
  5. Adjust the plane orientation to (1, 0, 0)
  6. Click Add and close the dialog

    Contour plane - YZ
    Model with YZ plane preview
  7. Select: Interpret > Contour Legend > Contour Options
    Input the following parameters:
    • Custom Range: 0 to 18.5
    • Interval Count: 20
    • Check Show Contour Lines

      Contour options dialog
  8. Click OK

    Model with contour planes
  9. Select the YZ contour plane from the visibility tree
  10. Right-click > Hide All But Selected Geometry 
  11. Unhide the SheetPile Wall and SheetPile Wall 3 entities from the visibility tree
  12. Below are the results for the Initial stage, Excavation 1 stage, Excavation 2 stage, and Excavation 3 stage from the right view

Initial

Pressure head for initial stage

Excavation 1

Pressure head for excavation 1 stage

Excavation 2

Pressure head for excavation 2 stage

Excavation 3

Pressure head for excavation 3 stage

Since the wall is impermeable, the pore pressure in the soil on either side of the wall is discontinuous as shown in the images above.

8.1.2 FLUID FLOW

  1. Show only the excavation and external volumes from the visibility tree
  2. Select Excavation 3 stage
  3. Select: Interpret > Queries > Add Fluid Flow Query 
    Input the following coordinates (press Enter after each input):
    (0, -10, -1) 
    (0, -10, -8)
  4. Right-Click > Done
    In the Fluid Flow Query Options dialog, select the first option and input 5

    Fluid flow query options dialog
  5. Click OK
  6. Repeat steps 3 to 5 to create three more fluid flow queries with the following coordinates:
    (0, 10, -1) and (0, 10, -8)
    (-12, 0, -1) and (-12, 0, -8)
    (12, 0, -1) and (12, 0, -8)

    Model with fluid flow (excavation 3 stage)
  7. Below are the results for Excavation 1 stage and Excavation 2 stage

    Model with fluid flow (excavation 1 stage)
    Model with fluid flow (excavation 2 stage)
  8. Below are the results of the fluid flow from the right view

    Right view of fluid flow in excavation 1 stage
    Right view of fluid flow in excavation 2 stage
    Right view of fluid flow in excavation 3 stage

    Excavation 1

    Excavation 2

    Excavation 3

8.2 COMPARISON WITH THE DRY CASE

8.2.1 EXCAVATION RESULTS

  1. Hide the fluid flow 
  2. Select Excavation 3 stage
  3. On the top right corner, set the Legend to Solids and Total Displacement 
  4. Unhide the contour planes
  5. Select: Interpret > Show Excavation Contour 
  6. Select all external volume entities from the Visibility Tree
  7. Adjust the transparency higher from the properties pane to visualize the displacement distribution more clearly

    Total displacement result from wet case

    Result from previous dry case:

    Total displacement result from dry case

Displacement is slightly higher in the wet case due to the water pressure that is applied to the wall.

8.2.2 BOLT RESULTS

  1. Hide all entities from the visibility tree but the excavation volumes
  2. Set the Legend to Bolts and Axial Force
  3. Select Excavation 3 stage 

    wet case bolt axial force

    Previous dry case:

    dry case bolt axial force
  4. Select Bolt 2: Pattern Results from the Visibility Tree then Select point 4 from the Properties Pane
  5. Select Graph Data from the Properties Pane

    Graph of axial force for wet case

    Previous dry case:

    Graph of axial force for dry case

    The graph shows that the axial force increases in the wet case. This is due to the additional pore pressure that is applied to the wall.

8.2.3 WALL RESULTS

  1. Set the Legend to Liners and Total Displacement

    Liner result for wet case

    Previous dry case:

    Liner result for dry case
  2. Select SheetPile Wall from the Visibility Tree
  3. Right-Click > Hide All But Selected Geometry
  4. Select: Interpret > Queries > Add Liner Line Query To Surface
  5. Select the mid-point on the top then select the mid-point on the bottom
  6. Right-Click > Done

    Query options dialog
  7. Click OK
  8. Select the query line from the Visibility Tree
  9. Select Graph Data from the Properties Pane
  10. From the Chart Options, select Change Plot Data
    • Primary Data: Y Displacement [m]
    • Horizontal Axis: Distance [m]
    • Secondary Data: Excavation 1, Excavation 2, and Excavation 3
  11. Click OK
  12. From the Chart Options select,
    • Swap Axes
    • Reverse X-Axis
    • Reverse Y-Axis
    • Min X Value: 0
    • Max X Value: 8
    • Min Y Value: 0
    • Max Y Value: 0.05

      Below are the graphs of the wet and dry cases exported to excel and combined:

      Graph showing both wet and dry cases
  13. Select all the SheetPile Wall entities from the Visibility Tree
  14. Select: Interpret > Deformed Configuration, which renders the exaggerated deformation pattern of the wall
  15. Set the Legend to Liners and YDisplacement
  16. Select the SheetPile Wall Deformation entities from the Visibility Tree
  17. Right Click > Hide All But Selected Geometry
  18. In the Properties Pane, set Scale Factor to 5 for each of the SheetPile Wall Deformation entities

    wet case - deformed configuration

    Previous dry case:

    dry case - deformed configuration

This concludes the tutorial.

Rocscience logo, click here to return to the homepage Portal Account Portal Account Portal Help Log In Log Out Home Shopping Cart icon Click here to search our site Click here to close Learning Tech Support RSInsight+ Logo Documentation Info Chevron Delete Back to Top View More" Previous Next Edit PDF File Calendar Location Language External Link Apply to ACC External Link Fees Video Click here to visit Rocscience's LinkedIn page Click here to visit Rocscience's YouTube page Click here to visit Rocscience's X page Click here to visit Rocscience's Facebook page Click here to visit Rocscience's Instagram page Click here to visit Rocscience's Reddit page Bookmark Network Scroll down for more Checkmark Download Print Back to top Single User Multiple Users RSLog RocFall3 CPillar Dips EX3 RocFall RocPlane RocSlope3 RocSupport RocTopple RS2 RS3 RSData RSPile RSWall NovoTech Bundle RSSeismic Settle3 Slide2 Slide3 SWedge UnWedge RocTunnel3 RocSlope2 BlastMetrix ShapeMetriX FragMetriX RSGeo RSRunout TestLicense Commercial License Education License Trial License Shop safe & secure Money-back guarantee