Search Results

Deep Excavation

1.0 Introduction

This tutorial introduces how to model deep excavation with support system in RS3.

All tutorial files installed with RS3 can be accessed by selecting File > Recent > Tutorials folder from the RS3 main menu. The initial file of the tutorial can be found in Deep Excavation - starting file.rs3v3 and the finished tutorial can be found in the Deep Excavation.rs3v3 file.

2.0 Starting the Model

  1. Select: File > Recent > Tutorials Folder
  2. Open the Deep Excavation - starting file.rs3v3
  3. Open Project Settings dialog by selecting Analysis > Project Settings Projects Settings
  4. Set Units to Metric, stress as kPa
  5. Select the Stages tab. Check the stage names:
    • Initial
    • Install sheet pile
    • Excavation 1
    • Bracing Installation
    • Excavation 2
    • Tieback Installation
    • Excavation 3

3.0 Defining the Materials

Ensure the current workflow tab is set to Geology Geology Workflow Tab

  1. Select: Materials > Define Materials
  2. In the Stiffness tab, assign the parameters for Loose Sand, Stiff Clay, and Dense Sand as the following table:

    Property

    Loose Sand

    Stiff Clay

    Dense Sand

    Use Unloading Condition

    Enabled

    Enabled

    Enabled

    Poisson’s Ratio (Loading)

    0.3

    0.35

    0.25

    Young’s Modulus (Loading) (kPa)

    15000

    40000

    80000

    Poisson’s Ratio (Unloading)

    0.3

    0.3

    0.3

    Young’s Modulus (Unloading) (kPa)

    45000

    120000

    400000

  3. In the Strength tab, set the Failure criterion to Mohr-Coulomb and Material Type to Plastic for Loose Sand, Stiff Clay, and Dense Sand. 
    Define the parameters as shown in the following table:

    Property

    Loose Sand

    Stiff Clay

    Dense Sand

    Peak Cohesion (kPa)

    0

    100

    0

    Peak Friction Angle (°)

    30

    0

    40

    Peak Tensile Strength (kPa)

    0

    0

    0

    Residual Cohesion (kPa)

    0

    100

    0

    Residual Friction Angle (°)

    30

    0

    40

    Residual Tensile Strength (kPa)

    0

    0

    0

  4. Select OK to save and close the Material Properties dialog

4.0 Model Setup

4.1 BOREHOLE DATA

The soil horizons of this model are defined using the borehole data. Follow the procedure below to review the borehole profile.

  1. Select: Materials > Borehole ManagerBorehole Manager
  2. Click OK

4.2 DEFINING SOIL LAYERS IN THE MODEL

  1. Select the External Entity from the Visibility Tree
  2. Select: Geometry > Set as External
  3. Select: Geometry > 3D Boolean > Divide All Geometry

    Divide All Parameters dialog
  4. Keep the default settings and click OK
  5. Select: Geometry > 3D Primitive Geometry > Box
  6. Write the following data:
    Create Box Dialog
  7. Click OK

    Model after defining excavation zone

4.3 DEFINING THE EXCAVATION ZONE

  1. Select the Box Entity from the Visibility Tree
    From the Properties Pane, change the Applied Property to Derive

    Non-external geometry entities can have its Applied Property set to Derived. Those entities will adopt the applied property setting of the parent external entity upon Divide All. This is particularly useful when the purpose of Divide All is to create boundaries while preserving the established material properties assignment to the existing external volumes. 
  2. Select the Box Entity and select: Geometry > 3D Boolean > Segmenter
    1. Change Path to Z Axis
    2. Keep Path Length to Number of Segments: 1
    3. Click on add segment above button and input 6

      Segmenter dialog
  3. Click Segment
  4. Select: Geometry > 3D Boolean > Divide All Geometry
  5. Click Ok
     
There is another mode for segmenter, however this method is unnecessary here since the regions are pre-defined by the borehole manager. The Path Length is changed to Segment Length: 2 as shown in the image below:
Segmenter Dialog

4.4 EXCAVATION SEQUENCE

Set the current workflow tab to Excavations Excavation Workflow Tab

  1. Select Excavation 1 stage
    Select top layer Box Entity
    From the Properties Pane, change the Applied Property to No Material
  2. Select Excavation 2 stage
    Select second layer from the top Box Entity
    From the Properties Pane, change the Applied Property to No Material
  3. Select Excavation 3 stage
    Select the third layer from the top Box Entity
  4. From the Properties Pane, change the Applied Property to No Material

    Model after Excavation 1
    Model after Excavation 2
    Model after Excavation 3

    Excavation 1

    Excavation 2

    Excavation 3

4.5 PREDEFINING LOCATION OF BRACING AND STRUTS

Beams are added to edges of the external volume. In this section, we are defining these edges.
  1. Select: Geometry > Polyline Tools > Draw Polyline
  2. Select: Plane Orientation = XY
  3. Then enter the following U,V Coordinates (press Enter between each pair and right-click > Finish Current Polyline between each line):
    1st Line: (-4.25, -3.75) and (-7.5, -0.5)
    2nd Line: (-7.5, 0.5) and (-4.25, 3.75)
    3rd Line: (0, -3.75) and (0, 3.75)
    4th Line: (4.25, -3.75) and (7.5, -0.5)
    5th Line: (7.5, 0.5) and (4.25, 3.75)
    Draw Polyline Dialog
  4. Select the green checkmark Done
  5. Select all the Polyline entities in the visibility pane
  6. Select: Geometry > Extrude/Sweep/Loft Tools > Extrude
  7. Enter Direction (x, y, z) = (0, 0, -1), Depth = 2 and click OK
    Extrude Dialog
  8. Select all the Extruded Polyline Entities and set Role to Geology from the Properties Pane
  9. Select: Geometry > 3D Boolean > Divide All Geometry
  10. Click OK
  11. This completes the excavation volume creation and setup for the support installation, continued next section
Model after defining it

5.0 Supports

Set the current workflow tab to Support Support Workflow Tab

5.1 WALL

For the sheet pile wall, we are using the equivalent thickness parameter for liner size AZ 20-700.

5.1.1 Define Liners

  1. Select: Support > Liners > Define Liner Properties
    Input the following parameters:
    • Young's Modulus (kPa): 2e+07 and Poisson's Ratio of 0.2
    • Thickness: 0.25
    • Enable the Include Weight in Analysis Option and input Unit Weight (kN/m3): 25.5
      Liner Properties Dialog
  2. Click OK
  3. Select: Support > Liners > Define Lining Composition
    1. Change Name to SheetPile Wall
    2. Add interfaces above and below the lining layer by selecting the Up Add interface above and Down Add Interface Below icons under the Edit columnLining Composition Dialog
    3. To modify/define the interface property, select the pencil icon Pencil Icon of Interface 1
      Make sure to uncheck Initial Joint Deformation and input the following parameters:
      • Failure Criteria: Material Dependent
      • Joint Coefficient: 0.7
        Joint Properties Dialog
    4. Click OK to close the Joint Properties dialog
    5. Click OK to close the Lining Composition dialog

5.1.2 Install Wall

  1. Select Install sheet pile stage
  2. Hide all entities from the Visibility Tree but the excavation volumes
  3. Select Face Selection Face Selection Icon
  4. Select the front-facing surfaces (from the front view)

    Front face selection
  5. Select: Support > Liners > Add Lining
    Make sure the parameters are as follows:
    Add Lining Dialog
  6. Click OK
  7. Repeat steps 5 and 6 for the right, back, and left faces

    Face Selection 2 Preview Face Selection 3 Preview Face Selection 4 Preview 
     

  8. To visualize the compositions of composite liner layers more apparently, follow the procedure below: 
    1. Select all four SheetPile Wall entities
    2. Select Expanded View from the Properties Pane
    3. The thickness/interface-liner gap can be controlled with the sliders for Liner Thickness and Gap between Liners
      Expanded View Selection Model showing liners with expanded view

5.2 BRACING

5.2.1 Define Beams

  1. Select: Support > Beams > Define Beams
    Input the following parameters:
    • Name: W610x82
    • Young’s Modulus (kPa): 2e+08
    • Poisson’s Ratio: 0.22
    • Area (m2): 0.011
    • I-min (m4): 1.21e-05
    • I-max (m4): 0.00056
      Beam Properties Dialog for Beam 1
  2. Click the Add new property button Add Icon to add a new property
    Input the following parameters:
    • Name: HSS 406x16
    • Young’s Modulus (kPa): 2e+08
    • Poisson’s Ratio: 0.22
    • Area (m2): 0.0195
    • I-min (m4): 0.000372
    • I-max (m4): 0.000372
      Beam Properties Dialog for Beam 2
  3. Click OK

5.2.2 Add Beams

  1. Select Bracing Installation stage
  2. Hide all entities from the visibility pane, but the excavation volumes
  3. Select Edges Selection Edge Selection Icon
  4. Select the top horizontal edges on the front side:

    Model with first edge selection
  5. Select: Support > Beams > Add Beams
    1. Beam Property: W610x82
    2. Beam Axis: Imax Axis
    3. Imax Direction: Vector (0, 0, 1)
    4. Install at stage: Bracing Installation
      Add Beams Dialog
  6. Click Add
  7. Repeat steps 5 and 6 for the rest of the outer edges as shown below

    edge selection shown on model edge selection shown on model edge selection shown on model

  8. Internal diagonal edges will be selected for HSS 406x16 beam installation
  9. Select the following edge at the front-left:

    Model with front-left edge selected
  10. Change the Beam Property to HSS 406x16
    Add Beams 2 Dialog
  11. Click Add
  12. Repeat steps 10 and 11 for the rest of the internal diagonal edges and the center edge
  13. Click Close to close the Add Beams dialog
  14. The clip below shows the edge selection procedures to add beams as described in this section:
    Beam Selection Video

The table below shows the difference between the orientation of the beam depending on the beam axis:

Beam AxisImin AxisImax Axis
Beam Axis Orientation
Beam orientation Imin axis
Beam Orientation Imax Axis

5.3 BOLTS

5.3.1 Define Bolts

  1. Select: Support > Bolts > Define Bolts
  2. Define Bolt 1 and Bolt 2 properties as follows:

    Property

    Bolt 1

    Bolt 2

    Bolt Type

    Tieback

    Tieback

    Bolt Diameter (m)

    0.05

    0.05

    Tensile Capacity (kN)

    650

    650

    Residual Tensile Capacity (kN)

    650

    650

    Bond Strength (kN/m)

    60

    60

    Borehole Diameter (m)

    0.15

    0.15

    Joint Shear

    Unchecked

    Unchecked

    Pre-Tensioning Force (kN)

    100

    350

    Length (m)

    6

    8

    Bolt properties dialog for Bolt 1
    Bolt properties dialog for Bolt 2
  3. Click OK

5.3.2 Add Bolts

  1. Select Tieback Installation stage 
  2. Hide all entities from the visibility pane except the boxes
  3. Select Faces Selection Face Selection Icon
  4. Select the following face:

    Model with front face selection
  5. Select: Support > Bolts > Add Bolts to Surface
  6. Input the following parameters:
    • Bolt Property: Bolt 2
    • Orientation: Trend and Plunge
    • Trend (°) / Plunge (°): -180 /40
    • Length (m): 12
    • Install at stage / Remove at stage: Tieback Installation / Never
    • Application: Bolt Pattern
    • Primary Path: Start: -7.5, -3.75, -2 and End: 7.5, -3.75, -2
    • Primary Spacing (m): 2.5
    • Primary Offset (m): 1.5
    • Secondary Spacing (m): 5
    • Secondary Offset (m): 1.5
      Add Bolts Dialog
  7. Click Add
  8. Click Done
  9. Repeat these steps for the other three surfaces on the same level with following parameters:

    Property 

    Right side

    Back side

    Left side

    Bolt Property 

    Bolt 1

    Bolt 1

    Bolt 1

    Length (m)

    9

    9

    9

    Trend (°) / Plunge (°)

    090/40

    000/40

    -090/40

    Install at stage / Remove at stage

    Tieback Installation / Never

    Tieback Installation / Never

    Tieback Installation / Never

    Application

    Bolt Pattern

    Bolt Pattern

    Bolt Pattern

    Primary Path Start

    7.5 -3.75 -2

    7.5 3.75 -2

    -7.5 3.75 -2

    Primary Path End

    7.5 3.75 -2

    -7.5 3.75 -2

    -7.5 -3.75 -2

    Primary Spacing (m)

    2

    2.5

    2

    Primary Offset (m)

    0.75

    1.5

    0.75

    Secondary Spacing (m)

    5

    5

    5

    Secondary Offset (m)

    1.5

    1.5

    1.5

    Model with bolts
  10. Select all the bolt entities from the visibility tree > unselect Simple Rendering to show the bonded portion of bolts
    Simple Rendering OptionModel with Bolts  

6.0 Loading

Set the current workflow tab to Loads Loads Workflow Tabs

In this section, we will setup the initial stress condition subsurface and add a load to represent that of the existing building.

  1. Select: Loading > Field Stress
  2. Set K1= 0.5 and leave the rest of the parameters with default settings
    Field Stress Dialog
  3. Click OK
  4. Select: Loading > Define Projected Load
  5. Change Name to Existing Building
  6. Input the following parameters in the Shape/Property tab:
    1. Width (m): 10
    2. Height (m): 10
    3. Magnitude (kPa): 150Manage Loads Dialog 1 
  7. In the Location tab, change the Location to (0, -10)
  8. Verify the Existing Building load item remains selected 
  9. Click OK

    Model with projected load

7.0 Restraints

Set the current workflow tab to Restraints Restraints Workflow Tab

  1. Select: Restraints > Reset All Displacements
  2. Select Reset Displacements after stages:
  3. Leave the displacement resetting stage as Initial 
    Reset All Displacements Dialog
  4. Select OK
  5. Select: Restraints > Auto Rotation Restrain (Surface)
    Model with Restraints

8.0 Mesh

Set the current workflow tab to Mesh Mesh Workflow Tab

  1. Hide all entities except boxes
  2. Select Faces SelectionFace selection icon
  3. Select all faces on the sides of the excavation volumes,

    Face selection for mesh refinement
  4. Select: Mesh > Define Refinement Regions
  5. Input the following parameters:
    1. Element Size (m): 0.75
    2. Extent (m): 0.75
      Mesh Refinement Dialog
  6. Click OK
  7. Select: Mesh > Mesh Settings
    Mesh Settings Dialog
  8. Keep the default settings and select Mesh
  9. Click OK

    Model with mesh

9.0 Compute

Set the current workflow tab to Compute Compute Workflow Tab

  1. It is recommended to save the final model as a seperate file so that you can access the original file anytime: File > Save As
  2. Select: Compute > Compute Compute Icon

10.0 Results

Set the current workflow tab to Results Results Workflow Tab

10.1 EXCAVATION RESULTS

  1. Select Excavation 3 stage 
  2. On the top right corner, set the Legend to Solids and Total Displacement
  3. Select: Interpret > Show Data on Plane > XZ
    Leave default parameters

    Contour plane dialog for XZ plane
    XZ plane preview
  4. Click Add
  5. Adjust the plane orientation to (1, 0, 0)

    Contour plane dialog for YZ plane
    YZ plane preview
  6. Click Add and close the dialog
  7. Select: Interpret > Show Excavation Contour
  8. Select all external volume entities from the vibility tree 
  9. Adjust the transparency higher from the properties pane to visualize the displacement distribution more clearly 

    Total Displacement shown on model

    The result shows a concentrated deformation on the south side of the excavation due to the presence of building load.

10.2 BEAM RESULTS

  1. Hide all entities from the visibility tree but the excavation volumes
  2. Set the Legend to Beams & Piles and Axial Force
  3. Below shows the axial force distributions of beams in Excavation 2 stage and Excavation 3 stage

    Axial force shown on model in Excavation stage 2
    Axial force shown on model in Excavation stage 3

    As demostrated from the displacement contour, higher load is induced in the beam approximate to the building load. Moreover, the excavation advancement results in a larger load within the beam with the highest concentration at the center.

10.3 BOLT RESULTS

  1. Set the Legend to Bolts and Axial Force
  2. Select Excavation 3 stage

    bolt axial force results
  3. Select Bolt 2: Pattern Results from the Visibility Tree then Select point 4 from the Properties Pane then Select Graph Data

    visibility tree showing chosen point Bolt graph

    The graph shows a reduction in tension along the length of the bolt (away from the bolt head). It also demonstrates the bolt remaining intact (has not yielded), as the maximum applied axial force remains below tensile capacity.

10.4 WALL RESULTS

  1. Set the Legend to Liners and Total Displacement

    Liner result
  2. Select SheetPile Wall from the Visibility Tree
  3. Right-Click > Hide All But Selected Geometry
  4. Select: Interpret > Queries > Add Liner Line Query To Surface
  5. Select the mid-point on the top then select the mid-point on the bottom
  6. Right-Click > Done
    Query Options Dialog
  7. Click OK
  8. Select the query line from the Visibility Tree
  9. Select Graph Data from the Properties Pane
  10. From the Chart Options, select Change Plot Data
    1. Primary Data: Y Displacement [m]
    2. Horizontal Axis: Distance [m]
    3. Secondary Data: Excavation 1, Excavation 2, and Excavation 3
  11. Click OK
  12. From the Chart Options select,
    1. Swap Axes
    2. Reverse X-Axis
    3. Reverse Y-Axis
    4. Min X Value: 0
    5. Max X Value: 8
    6. Min Y Value: 0
    7. Max Y Value: 0.05

      Line query results

      The graph shows the transverse displacement of the wall at each excavation stage. All three curves consistently shows the gradual reduction in displacement with depth. The deformation generally increases with deeper excavation, however; the liner deforms similarly between Excavation 2 and Excavation 3, due to the reinforcement from bolts.

  13. Select all the SheetPile Wall entities from the Visibility Tree
  14. Select: Interpret > Deformed Configuration, which renders the exaggerated deformation pattern of the wall
  15. Set the Legend to Liners and Y Displacement
  16. Select the SheetPile Wall Deformation entities from the Visibility Tree 
  17. Right-Click > Hide All But Selected Geometry
  18. In the Properties Pane, set Scale factor to 5 for each of the SheetPile Wall Deformation entities

    deformed configuration

    This concludes the tutorial.
     

Rocscience logo, click here to return to the homepage Portal Account Portal Account Portal Help Log In Log Out Home Shopping Cart icon Click here to search our site Click here to close Learning Tech Support RSInsight+ Logo Documentation Info Chevron Delete Back to Top View More" Previous Next Edit PDF File Calendar Location Language External Link Apply to ACC External Link Fees Video Click here to visit Rocscience's LinkedIn page Click here to visit Rocscience's YouTube page Click here to visit Rocscience's X page Click here to visit Rocscience's Facebook page Click here to visit Rocscience's Instagram page Click here to visit Rocscience's Reddit page Bookmark Network Scroll down for more Checkmark Download Print Back to top Single User Multiple Users RSLog RocFall3 CPillar Dips EX3 RocFall RocPlane RocSlope3 RocSupport RocTopple RS2 RS3 RSData RSPile RSWall NovoTech Bundle RSSeismic Settle3 Slide2 Slide3 SWedge UnWedge RocTunnel3 RocSlope2 BlastMetrix ShapeMetriX FragMetriX RSGeo RSRunout TestLicense Commercial License Education License Trial License Shop safe & secure Money-back guarantee