Search Results

9 - Multi-Tiered Wall

In this tutorial, a multi-tiered MSE wall is designed using the AASHTO 2024 standard. A step-by-step guide through the design process is provided. 

Topics covered:

  • Multi-tiered wall wizard

Finished product

The finished product of this tutorial can be found in the Tutorial 9 folder. All tutorial files installed with RSWall can be accessed by selecting File > Recent Folders > Tutorials Folder from the RSWall main menu.

1.0 Getting Started

This section will cover starting a new project and configuring the project settings.

  1. Open RSWall and select MSE wall from the wall template options.
  2. For Design Standard select AASHTO 2024.
  3. Click OK.

2.0 Project Settings

  1. Select Home > Project > Project Settings Project Settings 
  2. In the Units tab, select Metric, stress as kPa.
  3. Select the Wall type tab.
    1. Segmental wall is selected by default
  4. Select the Design Standard tab.
    1. Ensure AASHTO 2024 is selected. In the Load Combinations section, Serviceability is already deselected, deselect Extreme too, so only Strength is selected.
  5. Select the Methodology tab.

    1. Set the Active pressure method to Coulomb method.
    2. Set the Tension in reinforcement to Simplified method.
    Currently, other active pressure and tension in reinforcement options are not supported for multi-tier walls
  6. Click OK to apply your changes.

3.0 Wall

In this section we will define the multi-tiered wall using the wizard. 

  1. Go to the Wall ribbon. 
  2. You can see that by default, Wall 1 is already available. In the Segment Tree, right click on Wall 1 and select Delete to delete it.

    Segment Tree
  3. Select Wall > Multi-Tiered Wall > Wizard Multi-Tiered Wall > Wizard 
  4. In the Multi-Tiered Wall Wizard, enter the parameters as follows:
    1. Height:
      1. H1 = 1.5 m
      2. H2 = 1.5 m
    2. Offset:
      1. Vertical offset = 0.2 m
      2. Horizontal offset = 1 m
    3. Terrace shape:
      1. Initial run: 0 m
      2. Slope angle: 20 degrees

        Define Multi Tiered Wall dialog
  5. Click Next. 
  6. Click on Wall Unit Properties and edit the parameters for Wall Unit 1 as follows:
    1. Height = 0.25 m
    2. Depth = 0.3 m
    3. Width = 0.4 m
    4. Center of gravity = 0.15 m
    5. Weight density = 23 kN/m3
    6. Interlayer shear strength type = Constant
    7. Shear capacity = 50 kN/m

      Define Wall Units Dialog
  7. Click OK to apply your changes and close the Define Wall Units dialog
The number of courses for each tier gets automatically calculated based on the wall unit heights and the tier heights entered.
  1. Click Finish to apply your changes and close the wizard

To make more detailed changes to the geometry of each tier, use the Define Section Profile dialog. 

  1. Select Wall > Wall Profile > Define Section Profile Define Section Profile 
  2. In the Define Section Profiles dialog, change the following parameters for both tiers:
    1. Set Uniform Setback Distance to 20 mm

      Define section profile dialog
  3. Click OK

Further changes to the tier offsets or terrace can be made through the Edit Multi-Tiered Wall dialog.

  1. Select Wall > Multi-Tiered Wall > Edit Multi-Tiered Wall > Edit 

In this dialog, the section profile properties can be reassigned, and the tier offsets and terrace geometry can be edited. 
You can see for both Tier 1 and 2, the vertical offset of 0.2m and the slope angle of 20 ° are considered for the offset and Terrace shape. 

  1. Click OK to close the window

Now we will finish setting up the rest of the wall

  1. Select Wall > Base > Add Leveling Pad Add Leveling Pad 
  2. In the Add Leveling Pad dialog, for both tiers, select the Add leveling pad checkbox and enter the following dimensions:
    1. Units = m
    2. Thickness = 0.15
    3. Width = 0.6
    4. Setback = 0.075

      Add Leveling Pad dialog
  3. Click OK.
  4. Select Wall > Base > Define Base Strength Define Base Strength 
    1. For both tiers, set Contact with soil = Soil on soil

      Define base strength
  5. Click OK.

4.0 Soil

In this section we will define the soil properties and assign them to different regions

  1. Go to the Soil ribbon.
  2. Select Soil > Soil Conditions > Define Soil Properties Define Soil Properties 
  3. In the Define Soil Properties dialog, add the following soil properties in the General tab as they are defined in the table below. The coefficient of adhesion in the Advanced tab is zero for all defined soils.
Soil name/PropertyUnit weight (kN/m3)Friction Angle Soil-structure friction AngleCohesion 
Retained upper tier2030200
Retained lower tier2032210
Reinforced2234220
Foundation2030200
Leveling Pad244027200
  1. Click OK
  2. Select Soil > Soil Conditions > Assign Soil Properties Assign Soil Properties 
  3. To assign a soil property to a region:

    1. Select the desired soil property from the left-hand menu.
    2. Click the desired region on the diagram to assign the property. You will see the region’s color change to correspond with the selected soil property.

    The matching soil properties to the soil regions are as follows:

    1. Front Face Soil = Foundation soil property.
    2. Reinforced Soil = Reinforced soil property.
    3. Backfill Soil (Tier 1) = Retained upper tier soil property.
    4. Backfill Soil (Tier 2) = Retained lower tier soil property
    5. Foundation Soil = Foundation soil property.
    6. Leveling Pad = Leveling Pad soil property.

      Assign Soil Properties dialog
  4. Click OK.
  5. Select Home > File > Save > Save As and save the model as “Tutorial 9”.

5.0 Loading and Support

In this section we will define a live load, as well as our reinforcement properties and arrangement.

  1. Go to the Loading and Support ribbon.
  2. Select Loading and Support > Loads > Manage Loads Manage Loads 
  3. In the Manage Loads dialog, for Load 1 enter the following:
    1. Distribution = Line load
    2. Classification = Live surcharge
    3. Direction = Vertical
    4. Set Horizontal distance (m) = 1
    5. Set Depth (m) = 0
    6. Set Magnitude (kN/m) = 10
    7. Bearing width (m) = 1
    8. Select the Assigned Segments tab and assign the load to Segment 1.

      Manage Loads dialog
  4. Click OK to apply your changes and close the dialog.
  5. Select Loading and Support > Reinforcement > Add Layout Add Layout 

The Add Reinforcement Layout dialog will open.

  1. For Tier 1 (Upper Tier) enter the following parameters:
    1. Define reinforcement placement by = Wall course
    2. Apply uniform length (m) = 2.5 
    3. Select Apply Uniform Placement 
      1. Number of courses below first layer = 0
      2. Number of courses between layers = 1
    4. Number of layers = 6. The data from row 1 will be copied to the additional rows.

      Add Reinforcement layout
  2. Repeat step 6 for Tier 2 (Upper Tier)
  3. Click OK.

6.0 Results 

In this section, we will compute the analysis and review the results.

  1. Go to the Results ribbon.
  2. Select Results > Compute > Compute Compute 

After the computation is complete, the results will appear onscreen:

The software shows the lowest Capacity Demand Ratio (CDR) value.

The Location column Results Grid now indicates whether the result corresponds to Tier 1, Tier 2, or the Combined wall geometry. 

Results
  1. Select Results > Compute > Report Generator in the toolbar. The Report Generator in RSWall provides all the hand calculations for the output results of the RSWall program.
    1. Under Navigation, click on the Results section. At the beginning of the section, the List of symbols used in the analysis is provided.
    2. Select Segment 1 > Complete Multi-Tiered Wall > Model properties. Note the separate sections for each component of the analysis. In the first section, the combined multi-tiered wall geometry is used to assess external and internal stability for the entire wall as a combined unit. In the other two sections, internal stability is assessed for each tier, and external stability is assessed for the top tier. 
    3. Detailed hand calculations for each component of the analysis are provided 
Rocscience logo, click here to return to the homepage Portal Account Portal Account Portal Help Log In Log Out Home Shopping Cart icon Click here to search our site Click here to close Learning Tech Support RSInsight+ Logo Documentation Info Chevron Delete Back to Top View More" Previous Next Edit PDF File Calendar Location Language External Link Apply to ACC External Link Fees Video Click here to visit Rocscience's LinkedIn page Click here to visit Rocscience's YouTube page Click here to visit Rocscience's X page Click here to visit Rocscience's Facebook page Click here to visit Rocscience's Instagram page Click here to visit Rocscience's Reddit page Bookmark Network Scroll down for more Checkmark Download Print Back to top Single User Multiple Users RSLog RocFall3 CPillar Dips EX3 RocFall RocPlane RocSlope3 RocSupport RocTopple RS2 RS3 RSData RSPile RSWall NovoTech Bundle RSSeismic Settle3 Slide2 Slide3 SWedge UnWedge RocTunnel3 RocSlope2 BlastMetrix ShapeMetriX FragMetriX RSGeo RSRunout TestLicense Commercial License Education License Trial License Shop safe & secure Money-back guarantee